Key dates

From moving in to exams, it’s good to know what to expect for the next academic year. Here’s a table of some useful dates to bear in mind.

2019/20 Session

Saturday 14 to Saturday 21 September 2019 Move into your accommodation. Please check your contract for the specific start date
Monday 23 to Friday 27 September 2019 Intro week activities
Monday 30 September 2019 Teaching starts (semester 1)
Friday 13 December 2019 Teaching ends (semester 1)
Saturday 14 December 2019 to Sunday 12 January 2020 Christmas vacation
Tuesday 24 December 2019 to Wednesday 1 January 2020  University and residence offices closed for Christmas
Monday 13 to Friday 24 January 2020 Exams/assessment period
Monday 27 January 2020 Teaching starts (semester 2)
Saturday 28 March to Sunday 26 April 2020 Easter vacation
Thursday 9 April (pm) to Tuesday 14 April 2020 University and residence offices closed for Easter
Monday 4 May 2020 University and residence offices closed for May Day bank holiday
Friday 8 May 2020 Teaching ends (semester 2)
Monday 18 May to Friday 5 June 2020 Exams/assessment period
Monday 25 to Tuesday 26 May 2020 University and residence offices closed for Spring bank holiday
Friday 19 June 2020 End of session
Friday 19 June to Saturday 11 July 2020 Students move out of accommodation. Please check your contract for the specific end date
Monday 31 August to Tuesday 1 September 2020 University and residence offices closed for August bank holiday
Friday 4 September 2020 Postgraduates with a 51 week contract move out