Key dates

From moving in to exams, it’s good to know what to expect for the next academic year. Here’s a table of some useful dates to bear in mind.

2020/21 Session

Saturday 12 to Saturday 19 September 2020 Move into your accommodation. Please check your contract for the specific start date
Monday 21 to Friday 25 September 2020 Intro week activities
Monday 28 September 2020 Teaching starts (semester 1)
Friday 11 December 2020 Teaching ends (semester 1)
Saturday 12 December 2020 to Sunday 10 January 2021 Christmas vacation
Thursday 24 December 2020 to Friday 1 January 2021  University and residence offices closed for Christmas
Monday 11 to Friday 22 January 2021 Exams/assessment period
Monday 25 January 2021 Teaching starts (semester 2)
Saturday 27 March to Sunday 25 April 2021 Easter vacation
Thursday 1 April (pm) to Tuesday 6 April 2021 University and residence offices closed for Easter
Monday 3 May 2021 University and residence offices closed for May Day bank holiday
Friday 7 May 2021 Teaching ends (semester 2)
Monday 17 May to Friday 4 June 2021 Exams/assessment period
Monday 31 May to Tuesday 1 June 2021 University and residence offices closed for Spring bank holiday
Friday 18 June 2021 End of session
Saturday 19 June to Saturday 10 July 2021 Students move out of accommodation. Please check your contract for the specific end date
Monday 30 to Tuesday 31 August 2021 University and residence offices closed for August bank holiday
Friday 3 September 2021 Postgraduates with a 51 week contract move out